solipsistic NATION No. 234: The Centrifuge

The CentrifugeToday on solipsistic NATION we’ll showcase The Centrifuge, a UK-based electronic arts collective that runs a digital record label and organises events around Europe. The Centrifuge focuses on the expression of the experimental aesthetic in electronic music, with an emphasis on electronica, glitch, ambience and minimalism, acid, IDM and drill and bass.

When I relaunched solipsistic NATION as a podcast and later as a radio program I had a mental checklist of labels I wanted to feature on the show. In the last five years I’ve slowly checked off most the of those labels. There are still plenty of labels left on that list but I’ve decided to focus more and more on exploring the blossoming of new electronic music labels. Most of these labels are netlabels, which makes sense in this age of the internet. What curious, though, is how electronic music labels often lends itself to collectivism, and that’s a theme we’ll explore on today’s show.

The Centrifuge as a collective entity has been around since 2007 and its main purpose was to put out releases by NeuteK. The Centrifuge has grown very quickly during those last four years and has grown its roster of artists. They’ve been kind enough to send me links to downloads of the latest albums released on The Centrifuge and I’ve always been impressed with what I’ve heard. The Weather Channel‘s “Weather Channel 0″ still gives me chills to this day (click here for a free download) and Roy of the Ravers still makes me want to dance. Just wonderful stuff!

Nearly all the music is available as a free download from The Centrifuge at, or, you can just click the links from the playlist below.

Next month on solipsistic NATION we’ll showcase Herb Recordings. I have no idea what I’ll be doing for next week’s show but later this month I’ll be interviewing Skinny Puppy‘s Ogre and KMFDM‘s Tim Skold. You can always follow me on Twitter at solipsistic to find out what else I’ve got planned for future shows.

See you next week!

  1. Monster X “Resurrection”
  2. Tudor Acid “Same Time As Before”
  3. Icarus “Sparkley Bear”
  4. Eutechnik “Alex Makes It Good” [FREE DOWNLOAD]
  5. Interview with Wassim of The Centrifuge
  6. Gareth Clarke “Factory Brew”
  7. Roel Funcken “Ledge”
  8. Roy of the Ravers “Oriental x0x-press”
  9. Tom Yaxley “Ambienty (Carl Brown ’92 Cornwall Mix)” [FREE DOWNLOAD]
  10. Anodyne “Empire of Light”
  11. Tudor Acid “Cipher9497″
  12. Interview with Wassim of The Centrifuge
  13. NeuteK “Epoch”
  14. Rival Consoles “Vos”

1:03:05 | 57.80 MB

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.